Home > Recommendations > “Down Memory Lane”, by Mike Resnick

“Down Memory Lane”, by Mike Resnick

“Down Memory Lane” is a 2005 science fiction short story by Mike Resnick.  It was nominated for the Hugo for Best Short Story of 2006.

Non-Spoiler Summary

“Down Memory Lane” is the story of a man losing his wife to Alzheimer’s, and the lengths to which he’s willing to go to help her.

Why should you read it?

For the first time in this blog, I’m going to tell you that I’m not the person to tell you why you should read this story.  It’s well written, as every Resnick piece is.  However, as someone who lost his father to Huntington’s Disease and is dealing with my mother losing parts of her memory at this very moment, I almost never enjoy stories about mental degeneration.  And this blog is about telling you what I love.

I don’t love this story.  It’s very well done, but it was no fun at all for me.  If you want to a recommendation, let the bulk of Resnick’s work make it, and perhaps read some or all of the other pieces of his I’m going to recommend here, or have.  But I can’t recommend this one, even though it may deserve it.  I just can’t do it.

Where to find “Down Memory Lane”

E scape Pod has a well acted version of “Down Memory Lane” in audio.

  1. June 27, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    I appreciate that the story hits some very tender spots. It’s currently being made into a movie in China, and for the life of me I don’t know how they’re doing it.

    — Mike Resnick

    • Steve Feldon
      June 27, 2013 at 10:27 pm

      Fortunately, that’s their job and not yours, then, Mr. Resnick, isn’t it?

      I want to be clear that this is not a review blog, but a recommendation blog. I think “Down Memory Lane” is a very good story, but that’s not what I’m talking to people about, as a goal. I’m recommending stories, which means that I have to enjoy them. And due to my own situation, I can’t enjoy this one, or Robert Sawyer’s _Frameshift_, or… several others. Nothing to do with quality.

      Thank you for all the excellent work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

